Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

 

Alvin Schwartz wrote folklore, myths and creepy urban legends, however who the people that read the stories remember the illustrations  by Stephen Gammell. Considering this book was for children it truly gave the result that was aimed to scare children and gave the children a obsession to get the book and would always be sold out, however parents would write letter to try and get the book banned and get them to try and change the illustration. The new copies of the ‘Scary stories to Tell in the Dark’ have changed the illustrations. Illustrator that is well known for Unfortunate Events Brett Oquist. I find his illustration very well done however comparing his work in the Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark is upsetting to see as it changes the purpose the story and doesn’t give out the response that Alvin sch wanted. Alvin Schwartz likes the fact that the book was challenge and was banned in a lot of countries as he got the response and feel he wanted in his book.

 

I find that for myself I hate when art work or even films are changed and changes that motive of the original. Children need to learn one day that the world isn’t full of sunshine. There are things that happen and thats not all good and being challenged by a book and give them the experience to what is going to happen in this world and that what we have to accept. I especially remember ‘Goosebumpes’ and ‘Grizzly Tales for Gruesome Kids’ and they were the British version of ‘Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark’ as for myself I don’t remember the stories as much as i do with ‘Goosebumps’ and ‘Grizzly Tales for Gruesome Kids’, however that doesn’t stop me from want to look at them today.

After looking into theses illustrations and stories I have seen a vast amount of similarities within my work and my aim towards where I want to go to in my outcome.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

